Happy 1st Birthday!

Exactly one year ago I made my first blog post Be Careful What You Wish For and so today CakeI am celebrating the 1st birthday of Outside of the Triangle. Having made 45 posts in that time I am pleased that a few people have read and commented on what I have had to say and flattered (and maybe a little surprised) that I have been cited in one Wikipedia entry! However the main reason I started this blog was as a means of self development and, looking back, this is where the true value has lain for me. Writing and researching posts has opened up my mind to new possibilities and viewpoints in ways that I could never have imagined a year ago. Some real highlights for me have been:

Reaching a milestone like this is a natural time for reflection. And, in my reflective state of mind, I thought back to a poem that my grandfather wrote in beautiful calligraphy inside a card he sent to me on my 1st birthday. Obviously I couldn’t understand it then (and wouldn’t profess to understand it fully now) but it now sits in a frame on my mantelpiece and serves to remind me of what really matters in life. It is attributed to Frank Dickey and the text, which I would like to end this post with, is as follows:

If I had my life to live over,

I would relax more.

I wouldn’t take so many things

so seriously.

I would take more chances.

I would climb more mountains,

and swim more rivers…

Nexttime

I’d start barefooted

earlier in the spring

and stay that way

later in the fall.

I wouldn’t make such good grades

unless I enjoyed working for them.

I’d go to more dances.

I’d ride on more merry-go-rounds.

I’d pick more daisies.

3 comments so far

  1. Bas on

    Congrats! Keep writing! One year of postings is not a small accomplishment.

    Cheers
    Bas

  2. Pawel Brodzinski on

    Congrats and keep up the good work.

  3. Raven on

    Hi David – Congrats on one year of blogging! I know what a challenge it can be to keep posting regularly and applaud your efforts here at Outside Of The Triangle!


Leave a Reply

