LiquidPlanner: A Revolution in Managing Uncertainty?

I have finally got around to trying out LiquidPlanner for myself after a significant period of anticipation. For those that don’t already know, LiquidPlanner is a new project management tool that embraces the idea of estimating in ranges (as recommended by me in my post Accurate Estimates). Where other project management tools insist that you enter single point estimates (like 10 days) LiquidPlanner allows you to enter a range (like 8-12 days). Using a statistical approach LiquidPlanner combines estimates for different tasks to give you an overall range for your project.

Things that have particularly impressed me are:

  • The user interface looks nice and is very easy to use. There is hardly any learning curve with this software.
  • The graphical representation of project and task estimates is very well implemented. Quite a lot of complex information is made easy to digest.
  • The facilities for storing documentation against tasks are excellent.
  • The general level of help available (including documentation, forums and FAQs) is very good, especially considering this product is still in beta.

This product is obviously in an early stage of development compared to some of the traditional project management software heavyweights. But it is really exciting and you can try it for free. So go on, what are you waiting for? Check out the video of their presentation at DEMO and then sign up for free to try it out for yourself. When you do, please leave me a comment and let me know what you think.

You can find out more about LiquidPlanner and probabilistic scheduling in my interview with Bruce P. Henry (LiquidPlanner’s Director of Rocket Science).

1 comment so far

  1. Project management Mashup on

    […] are talking about it. I have said myself in my monthly column: “Personally I am very thrilled to have tools […]


Leave a Reply

