October Web Roundup

October seems to have been a month where everyone I know (me included) has suffered from some kind of cold/flu. Health in the workplace is a big issue and stress related illnesses are a key area of concern. Earlier this month Liz Handlin asked the question Can your job kill you? and then, a couple of weeks later, Ramon Padilla asked Are you always on? Then I read Deconstructing Frankenstein which talks about the value of AntiPatterns (i.e. patterns that show you how not to do something). This led me to think that maybe this Dilbert cartoon is a good AntiPattern for how health issues should definitely not be handled.

I like a good story and I have long been convinced that good story telling is an important communication technique. I first read about this in Tom Peter’s book Thriving on Chaos:

“The best leaders, almost without exception and at every level, are master users of stories and symbols”

More recently I read similar advice in Jo Owen’s book How to Lead:

“If you have created a good hypothesis, you should be able to construct a simple story to make your point.”

Against this background I was interested to read this month Tell New Stories To Make The Lean Change and Want to create change? Tell a story.

Generally I am a fan of trying to focus on one thing at a time and I think that expecting too much multitasking from your team can limit their productivity. Benjamin Ellis has posted his thoughts on the power of focus in Why Don’t You See What You Can Do in an Hour? Meanwhile Stacey Douglas has posted on the limits of multitasking. Reading her post put me in mind of Bruce P. Henry’s novel argument against multitasking from last month: Multitasking Is Killing Your Business.

Last, but not least, this photo at Coding Horror made me (and a few of my colleagues) laugh out loud. Enjoy!

1 comment so far

  1. Jamin on

    A great collection of articles! The photo made me laugh too. Very glad that you enjoyed the article.


Leave a Reply

